Packing up, breathing deeply.

 

The days before a trip always seem to be a kind of twilight zone for me, somewhere between fast-forward and slow-motion. I’m leaving in a couple days for Thailand, India and Nepal and this time I’m going by myself. 

With no one else to help share the burden of pre-trip responsibilities, I often find myself darting around the house looking for things and trying to get my shit together, but more often it’s my mind that is doing mental gymnastics. But I’ve come a long way.

So far I’ve packed a cloth sleeping bag, a compass and a roll of toilet paper. And I’m furiously trying to finish “A Dance With Dragons” by George R.R. Martin. If you’re familiar with that series, you may know why I would want to finish it before I leave. If you aren’t, well, it weighs about 5 pounds. 

The trip will be a three month exploration of the world and my self, and I’m getting excited to document it. But first, I need to finish this beast of a book and get to packing.

And if there is anything you never travel without, I’d like to hear it.

Tagged , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Packing up, breathing deeply.

  1. andybeel says:

    Fantastic atmosphere – thanks

  2. thirdeyemom says:

    I love the photo! I am so envious that you are going to Nepal. I did the Annapurna trek in November and absolutely fell in love with the country. It is amazing. If you are into trekking, you must try to see Mustang. It has been recently opened to tourism and is the last hidden frontier. Also I the Everest Base Camp trek is supposed to be wonderful. I only spent three days in India and it was insane. It was such a cultural shock…like no place I’d ever been. I am hoping you will blog about it as I want to go back someday and would love to hear about your experiences. I was in between trekking in Nepal and India (Source of the Ganges trek) and decided on peaceful, tranquil Nepal. Looking forward to your posts! P.S, A great book to read, a true story, on Nepal is called “Little Princes” by Conner Grennan. You can order it on Amazon and I read it in three days, met the author and it made a huge impact on my life. Good luck!

    • j.young says:

      Thanks! I can’t wait to see it, and I’ll definitely be blogging about it, so thanks for reading. And I’ll definitely be checking out that book, hopefully I’ll even be able to find it somewhere along the way, thanks for the suggestion!

  3. I always make sure to have a ton of pens, just in case I need to write something down.
    You have some awesome photography and some cool stories, we should chat sometime.

  4. bobbygw says:

    Have a terrific time – I’ve no doubt you will. And you achieved the wisdom of the East already, I see, by making efforts to ensure completing A Dance with Dragons before you leave!

  5. Fiona.q says:

    – some medicine in case
    – a pen
    – some small gifts (idk why, just would love to give it to strangers met on the road)

  6. Oh man that sounds fantastic, hope you have an awesome trip and looking forward to hearing (and seeing) all your experiences over there.

  7. Clownshoes says:

    Sounds like an awesome trip. I frequently travel and plan to stay outdoors and, as such, I never travel without a camp percolator to make coffee. Can’t live without the stuff.

Leave a Reply

