The worst part about travel is … travel

Bold statement, I know.

After three or four days of travel (I’m not really sure anymore), I’ve finally reached my destination, which for now, is Koh Phagnan, Thailand. To get here I flew, trained, taxied, bused, ferried, and tuk-tuk’ed.

I may have rode a mule at one point, but I can’t be certain.

But at least mules have the open air as AC. For some reason, most buses in SE Asia do not. They have a trickle of air that leaks out of the vents, just to tease you, so you continually adjust the aim in a fruitless attempt to milk it for what you can, which isn’t much. And if there is a bathroom on board, which there was, your nose is in for a treat.

But, it ended, as it always does, and now I’m here. Sunburned and drinking Chang. And I’m excited to sleep on something other than an airport floor and an upright seat. And now that it’s over, I can look back in a more objective manner, and say it’s not all bad.

You learn a lot being put in those situations. Like how to cope with severe dehydration and a sweaty back. And you get to meet people like Darrin, an Irishman that boarded the overnight bus with a fifth of whiskey, a liter of Pepsi, and a glass, which he was kind enough to offer us before it ended up shattered on the floor in the middle of the night.

Travel is like that, and it’s worth all the pain along the way.

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “The worst part about travel is … travel

  1. Fiona.q says:

    already started ur trip? quick! nice new beginning 😉

  2. thirdeyemom says:

    Wow….it looks so incredibly beautiful!

  3. Yeah, there’s a lot to be said for the “life is a journey, not a destination” maxim. Good to hear you made it to your destination, enjoy!

  4. I have been absent for a while, but now I remember why I used to love this web site. Thank you, I will try and check back more frequently. How frequently you update your site?

Leave a Reply

