Kathmandu: the travel bug awaketh

As our plane flew low over the alpine hills and fertile valley floors of Kathmandu a feeling of peace and contentment filled my being. I was free of Delhi with all its crowds, touts and heat — not to mention the machinations of the Doctor in my quest for self-discovery.

It felt like a fog of peace was surrounding the area, and I came gliding in, happy and excited about landing on the “rooftop of the world.”

I wasn’t disappointed. It’s beautiful here. The soft hills and peaks surround this valley that legend says was once a large lake, and they are visible from nearly any rooftop garden which are never hard to find. The people are friendly and warm, with genuine smiles and the ever-present look of curiosity and astonishment at seeing a 6’6″ half-Asian.

I should mention the majority of Nepalese people are tiny, with doors that only seem to come up to my ribs, making the juxtaposition even more comical.

October is peak season for trekking the Himalayas, and there are thousands of westerners on the streets buying scarves, knitted sweaters, knock-off North Face gear and whatever other trekking essentials they had failed to bring. I myself bought a pretty bad-ass Yak-wool knitted jacket. Yep, that’s right, Yak-wool.

I’ve decided to do a shortened version of my original intended trek, The Annapurna Circuit, and am instead doing the Annapurna Sanctuary, which is a 10-day tea house trek that will bring me into the heart of the Himalayas (thus the yak wool).

I leave for Pokhara tomorrow, and there I will do a “Rocky” montage to get in shape for the trek, and begin the next day.

That means I should probably stop drinking beer, which is a good thing because the prices are outrageous here, something like $4 each. (Outrageous for me…)

Speaking of beer, last night as I sat in Sam’s Bar in Thamel, I found myself reading the graffiti lined walls and found a little nugget of wisdom, at least it made me chuckle.

“Time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.”

Thanks, Suzy from England.

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Kathmandu: the travel bug awaketh

  1. simplicityandrandom says:

    Pretty picture!

  2. thirdeyemom says:

    Enjoy! I did the Annapurna Circuit trek almost a year ago now and it is still in my heart and mind. I LOVED Nepal. Pokhara is lovely but I also truly enjoyed Manang. Have a great trip and take lots of pictures! I’m sure you’ll find a lot of peace!

    • j.young says:

      Thanks! Can’t wait. I’ll have to come back and do the whole circuit at some point.

      • thirdeyemom says:

        I was just looking back at your blog and realized that I never ever click on the “receive an email response” button! So sorry for never replying! Your recent post is sensational! Wow, you are an amazing photographer. I’d be curious to know how your trek compares to what I did. I would also love to trek in Bhutan and Tibet. Are you headed there? How long are you traveling for and where are you from? By the way, I had nominated you recently for a Versatile Blogger award. Not sure if my recommendation of you blog brought in more readers…hope it did!

Leave a Reply

