Our shadows will outlive us all

One hundred and eighty three reflections of sky and trees and bricks and mortar in a grey-blue field.

I got out of the apartment today and took a long walk around the promenade, getting my ol’ shutterfinger some exercise. The air was crisp and cool as I walked around the lake, watching the sun slowly turn the same color as my nose while my feet led me mindlessly toward the coffee shop in the center of town. It’s been some time since I sat alone at a table, watching and writing, thinking about everything and nothing.

It felt wunderbar. (It’s a shame I’m leaving Germany soon, what with my incredibly vast knowledge of Deutsch and all).

Meanwhile, Weinnacht (or “Wine Night” — what those funny Germans call Christmas) is running at full speed in the city center, with stalls selling sausages, champignons and gluhvein (a mulled wine mixed with rum). The hectic bustle adds another flavor to the ice-cold streets, making me feel all nice and cozy inside. Never mind, that’s probably the gluhvein.

Anyway, here are a few pic’s from today’s walk/food stall sample-fest. And if you’re wondering why there aren’t any pictures of the food, it’s because I ate it before I remembered to take a picture of it. Priorities.

Tagged , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Our shadows will outlive us all

  1. wunderbar postag (that’s my guess at post in German).

  2. Great post, man. There’s a distinct vividness to these shots, it really feels as if the viewer’s right there, right in the middle of things, feeling the cool breeze and smelling all the wonderful food smells…Pity you didn’t take any shots of all those delicious treats, LOL.

  3. Mmm, mulled wine! This reminds me, I still haven’t visited the Christmas market this year!

  4. timeculprit says:

    Hey! I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! Your blog has inspired me, and I look forward to reading more. Visit http://millieho.wordpress.com/2011/12/02/the-versatile-blogger-award/ for details.

  5. Jean Angelus Pichardo says:

    The photo of the bridge, I loved it! Perhaps because I have a special affection for the bridges.

  6. […] spent a month here not so long ago, and I’ve returned to be my brother’s best man. It’s only been […]

Leave a Reply

