At The end of the landmass


It’s been an eventful 3 1/2 months bouncing around the world, and as I come back to the states over yet another ocean, the Atlantic, I’m grateful that once again, I could end my journey abroad in the glorious country of Spain.

From walking through the curious mind of Gaudi and his awe-inspiring Sagrada Familia, to some of the most delicious food I’ve ever been lucky enough to feast upon, Spain has been the icing on the cake; the belly of the pig; the gravy in the pan; the croquette’s crunch; the barnacle’s neck — I could go on indefinitely, so I’ll stop before I overreach myself.

You get the idea.

Spain is the Bee’s Knees.

But how quickly time flies.

In September I left for Bangkok. Now, I find myself sitting on the plane filling out the countries I’ve visited since departure on the customs form, watching the little white plane on the overhead screen get closer and closer to that landmass I call home. It’s yellow tail crawling slowly across the Atlantic.

Memories I’ve made in each of those countries indelibly scrawled across my mind, but it’s not over. It never really is. Now my journey begins once more in America as I make my way home. My first stop is one of my favorite cities in the world — New York City.

But first, here are some photos.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “At The end of the landmass

  1. Great shots, and man, but Spain sounds sooo good. I’m definitely making a plan to go and visit next year, seeing that I’m so close and all!

    I meant to ask you, how do you make all this travelling happen? Did you inherit some vast fortune from some obscure uncle you’ve never heard of, or what, lol.

    Enjoy the States!

    • Bottlecaps & Broken Bits says:

      Seriously, good plan and well worth it.

      Haha, basically 1.) I travel either to really inexpensive places, or places where I know family or friends. 2.) When I’m home I work and I don’t spend much money, plus I don’t have any student loans or debt. 3.) my sister in law is a frequent flier master so she hooked me up on the return flight back to the states. 4.) Luck. (giving up our seats on a flight for $750 in credit) 5.) Supportive parents and generous brothers. 6.) Instead of buying an iPhone I buy a ticket.

      But the funds are non-existent now so I’ll have to wait a while for the next adventure.

  2. thriftydrifter says:

    Coming home after a long trip can feel so devastating. I remember the crushing feeling coming over me during my last few days in Vietnam. I’m not sure I’d use the word “culture shock” as many do, to describe being back in the states, but I might use the word “culture resentment.” Even that passed quickly. I love my friends and family, love the city I know like the back of my hand, and now I’ve fallen in love with my future husband and have loved every minute of planning a wedding and our next great adventure to South America. How long do you think you’ll be back before heading out again? A year? A couple of Months? However-long-it-takes-to-save? cheers!!

    • Bottlecaps & Broken Bits says:

      I hear ya, those feelings are all too real, but I definitely agree with you on how nice it is to see family and friends as well as the place you truly know because you’ve grown up there. I had a bit of culture shock just from the fact that everyone spoke English again, it took some getting used to. But it’s good to be back… for now. I’m already feelin the itch to take off, but it will be at least a few months as I refill my coffers. Congratulations on your upcoming wedding! Take care.

  3. I love the atmosphere of the first photo.

  4. Sounds like Spain made quite the impression on you. 😀 I really enjoyed Barcelona – Gaudi’s architecture did it for me.

  5. Mach says:

    I wonder if you have gone backpacking in the Philippines?

    • Bottlecaps & Broken Bits says:

      I have, was there a year ago with my brother visiting some family. It was a lot of fun, especially Borocay.

      • Mach says:

        Oh cool, I’ll have to check your post about your experience there, only if bothered to write about it… ;p

      • Bottlecaps & Broken Bits says:

        Haha, it might be on my brother and I’s old blog, chexan.wordpress.com. So check there if you can’t find it.

Leave a Reply

