A one-way ticket to China.

Our train is flying at 302 km/h.

Fields of gold and brown flash behind the window — their tree-lined edge just a blur of textured green.

The ride is smooth with only a quiet rumble coming from below as the tracks bank to accommodate the huge speed of the train as it makes sweeping turns through the countryside. Another train coming from the opposite direction rolls by in an instant. A gust and then it’s gone.

I’m on the south-bound train from Beijing to Nanjing in Eastern China with a friend I met 6 years ago when I used to row for my university. Her name is Devery and she’s been teaching English in China for nearly a year. About 3 and a half months ago she posted something on Facebook, something like, “Who wants to come visit me in China???”

Well, of course I wrote, “Me!” And one one-way ticket later, here I am. The country from which my half-Asian heritage hath sprung.

I’ve learned enough to know that sometimes opportunities only come around once, and it’s best not to let them pass you by.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “A one-way ticket to China.

  1. It’s wonderful that you take the opportunites as they come to you and not let them pass by. It’s a great way to live. I’m trying to encourage my son to look at life this way, too. I showed him your blog as inspiration. He’s excited and thinking about traveling after he graduates. It made his day, he said, when I told him I think he should travel a bit before college. (This was after the look of amazement spread across his face.) It will be nice to see your adventure unfold here. Have fun!

    • J. William Young says:

      Haha, you sound like a great parent, I’d be floored if I were him as well. I’m a little sad that I didn’t do the gap year before school, seeing as travel is as much of a learning experience in many ways as school is, but I’ve more than made up for that :). Thanks for the comment, much appreciated.

  2. Fiona.q says:

    nanjing is not that far from my hometown. oh gosh, when you are in my country, im already on the other side of the world.

  3. thirdeyemom says:

    Wonderful! Have a great time, see the countryside and enjoy it!!!

  4. You on the road again? How brilliant! Man, how I envy you…

    • J. William Young says:

      It keeps sucking me back in haha, can’t wait to see the results of your project, man. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

