Chengdu // the fisherman

– October 28

These are the final few hours before home and I’m sitting on a cold slab of cement on the North bank of the Fu Nan River watching an old man fish.

I stop to take a sip of the lukewarm beer I bought at the market across the street.

The man is taking a smoke break and tinkering with his lure. His knowing hands non-fumbling on intricate knots as he sits on a small wood stool.

He finishes the cigarette and stands up holding his rod-tip skyward. Slowly, he cocks it back and flings the lure in to the middle of the river.

An hour passes.

Nothing yet. In fact, I’ve never seen anyone catch anything here.

The reason must not be the catch.

It is the speed of Chengdu.


Tagged , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Chengdu // the fisherman

  1. Love this pic! And also love Chengdu 🙂

  2. Fiona.q says:

    “The reason must not be the catch.
    It is the speed of Chengdu.”

  3. Vlad says:

    thanks for unplugging me with this post.
    i feel like in a Wong Kar Wai film now, I can even hear the cigarette sound when I puf from it. Time is oozing out, and I return to my real self ! 😛
    I am going to take on fishing I think

  4. ponky says:

    This is so beautiful, thank you for sharing.

Leave a comment